

Council Assembly (Annual Meeting)

Wednesday 22 May 2013
7.00 pm
Council Offices, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Supplemental Agenda No.2

List of Contents

tem No.		Title				Page No.	
3.2.	Establishment of Committees, Related Matters - 2013/14	Community	Councils,	Panels	and	1	
	Questions on report.						
4.	Amendments					2 - 3	

Contact

Lesley John on 020 7525 7228 or 020 7525 7222 or email: lesley.john@southwark.gov.uk; andrew.weir@southwark.gov.uk; constitutional.team@southwark.gov.uk Webpage: http://www.southwark.gov.uk

Date: 21 May 2013

COUNCIL ASSEMBLY

(ANNUAL MEETING)

WEDNESDAY 22 MAY 2013

QUESTIONS ON REPORTS

ITEM 3.2 - ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES, COMMUNITY COUNCILS, PANELS AND RELATED MATTERS - 2013/14

1. QUESTION FROM COUNCILLOR ROSIE SHIMELL

What work has the council done to measure satisfaction levels with the current community council system?

2. QUESTION FROM COUNCILLOR PODDY CLARK

Please list the attendance for each community council area for each meeting in the last two years?

3. QUESTION FROM COUNCILLOR JAMES BARBER

Will the leader consider returning to eight community council areas and allowing chairs to manage the existing budget more efficiently?

4. QUESTION FROM COUNCILLOR ADELE MORRIS

What percentage of planning applications has been decided by planning subcommittees in 2012/13? How does this compare to the percentage decided by community councils in 2011/12?

AMENDMENTS

ITEM 3.2 – ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES, COMMUNITY COUNCILS, PANELS AND RELATED MATTERS (see pages 5 - 33 of the main agenda)

AMENDMENT A

Moved: Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Seconded: Councillor Grahame Neale

In recommendation 2, delete the section entitled 'Community councils' and insert

Community councils

The system of five community councils has run for a year, with disappointing results. Following feedback from residents, council assembly will re-establish eight community council areas:

- Borough and Bankside
- Bermondsey
- Rotherhithe
- Walworth
- Peckham
- Camberwell
- Nunhead and Peckham Rye
- Dulwich

In recommendation 3, delete the section entitled 'Community councils' and insert

Community councils

- · Borough and Bankside
- Bermondsey
- Rotherhithe
- Walworth
- Peckham
- Camberwell
- Nunhead and Peckham Rye
- Dulwich

Delete paragraph 45 and **insert**:

45. There will be eight community council areas divided by geographical areas as follows:

Table 4 - Community councils areas divided by geographical areas

Name of community council	Members from electoral wards serving on			
-	community councils			
Borough and Bankside	Cathedrals and Chaucer wards			
Bermondsey	Grange, Riverside and South Bermondsey wards			
Rotherhithe	Rotherhithe, Surrey Docks and Livesey wards			
Walworth	Faraday, East Walworth and Newington wards			
Peckham	Peckham and Livesey wards			
Camberwell	Brunswick Park, Camberwell Green and South			
	Camberwell wards			
Nunhead and Peckham Rye	Nunhead, Peckham Rye and The Lane wards			
Dulwich	College, East Dulwich and Village wards			

Note:

There would be potential financial implications associated with this amendment, therefore if carried it would have to be referred back to the cabinet to consider and make recommendations to council assembly.



COUNCIL ASSEMBLY AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN) (AMENDMENTS) MUNICIPAL YEAR 2013/14

Original held by Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Lesley John Tel: 020 7525 7228 NOTE:

ONE COPY TO ALL UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED	Copies	То	Copies
All Councillors	1 each	Others	1
Group Offices Alex Doel, Labour Group Office Williams Summers, Liberal Democrat Group Office	2 1 1	Elizabeth Olive, Audit Commission, Ground Floor, Tooley Street	
Officers Eleanor Kelly Doreen Forrester-Brown Sonia Sutton, Mayor's Secretary Ian Millichap	4 1 1 1		
Constitutional Officer Lesley John, 2 nd Floor, Hub 4, 160 Tooley Street	20		
		Lost Undeted: May 2012	
		Last Updated: May 2013 Total:	90